Betula Nighttime & 12 mm Samyang

Heya!

A couple weeks ago I bought a Samyang 12 mm f/2.0 lens. On my nex, it has a viewing angle of about 100° the lightness is just awesome! Many people say it’s a great lens for starry skies and milky way photography, but I haven’t yet had the chance to do that. Being the first prime I ever got, it’s quite unfamiliar to me. I was used to filling the frame pretty easily with my 18-55 kit lens, but it’s pretty darn hard with this baby! It’s just not made to be an all-round lens. But that’s OK. At 12 mm, none can expect the lens to be universal. What I like is the closeup photos of objects, where it really brings a dramaticity into the shot (sample below 😉 ). The low light performance is just incredible. I really can’t wait to try it on the starry sky in a low light-polluted area. But don’t think I just let it lie around the house…I’ve already taken some night shots with it and here is one of them. It’s cropped, so it doesn’t really show the full wide angle potential, but the picture below I believe shows it…and it has a nice effect to it too 😀

Have a great day!

Stanley

12-betula_nighttime

Shot at night. The white background is a cloudy cover over the city, illuminated by it’s lights – hence the yellow tint.

Uncropped image illustrating the wide angle of the lens. I guess it would be better compared to a shot with default kit lens, but that will be a part of the upcoming detailed review.

Uncropped image illustrating the wide angle of the lens. I guess it would be better compared to a shot with default kit lens, but that will be a part of the upcoming detailed review.

_DSC0852

A long exposure with the lens and static foreground. Only slightly cropped and about f/4. The moon was very bright that night (I think it was full moon!), but by the time I finally got out, a huge cloud came over the city and stayed there for about two days 😀

The lens has a minimal focusing distance of 20 centimetres. This really comes handy for closeups, where the object is really drawn into attention. Aperture wide open at f/2.

The lens has a minimal focusing distance of 20 centimetres. This really comes handy for closeups, where the object is really drawn into attention. Aperture wide open at f/2.

Tell us what You think

