Welcome to 2015!

Happy 2015 everyone!

If you read our last posts in 2014, you know by now, that we decided to move from posting a photo a day (which we couldn’t keep up 😀 ) to posting a new picture once a week. Hopefully, we will observe a shift from quatity to quallity. Hopefully, there will also be some time to come up with more things besides photography 😉

So, I’d like to open the year with a fireworks photo. Last year, we spend the New year in Jana’s hometown Pečky. It’s pretty small town and the firework photo wasn’t therefore as rich as I hoped it to be. But we knew exactly where the firework is going to be and we therefore had an easy time setting the shoot up. The photos turned out wery well and I was really looking forward to this year’s photos, when we are spending the New year in my hometown, Liberec. In the past years, there used to be a huge city-organised firework show. When we got to the town hall square by midnight, we found out this tradittion is over. Many people have gathered there however and brought their own fireworks. The problem was that the fireworks were kinda spread around the city centre, so we didn’t really know where to position ourselves. We ended up setting the tripod as you see on the picture below. And because the absence of a big firework was clearly not enough, it started to drizzle. The wind didn’t really help either…next camera I’m buying will definatelly be weatherproof! Because of the raindrops, many photos have those huge bokeh-like heptagons on the right side. Well, I tried to make the most of it and ended up with three quite nicely lit photos. And since I couldn’t decide which one to post, I made them into a triptych. This is something I wanted to do for quite a long time, but till now I couldn’t think of a topic, neither did I stumble scross such a series of my photos, that would go nicely with this. This fireworks triptych still isn’t the kind of a result I’d like to achieve, but I’m getting closer! I’ll definatelly make at least one more during 2015!

So, have a wonderful year 2015 and thank you for staying with StrangeGround! We appreciate your support! Cheers!

Stanley

01-fireworks_triptych

P.S.: Note the towers in the background…that Liberec town hall, that looks suspiciouly like Vienna town hall. Coincidence? No! check wiki 😉

2 thoughts on “Welcome to 2015!

  1. Thanks! Positive feedback is always welcome 😀 One of the things I’d like to fit into 2015 schedule are also tips and tricks, so that anyone can take fireworks photos the way it’s supped to be…hopefully, there will be enough time for that.
    Cheers and thanks!

Tell us what You think

